[Solved] Dictation feature taking too long to send text to 3rd party programs

Started by thiagofico@gmail.com, Oct 14, 2015, 09:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thiagofico@gmail.com

Hello,

I have a problem regarding the dictation feature. I am a translator, and I purchased Braina to use this feature to speed up my work on third-party text editors, but the software takes very long to send the text dictated by me to the third party program. The text stays grayed out on the Braina's dictation window for even up to a minute before turning black and being sent to other programs. I have tried NotePad, Microsoft Word, Idiom WorldServer Desktop Workbench, and Chrome. My office internet connection is very, very fast, so I believe this is not the issue.

Some info on my machine:
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
Intel Core i7 @ 3.4GHz
8GB RAM
64 bits
Firewalls are off
McAfee Antivirus

Any tips on how to fix this?

Thank you,

Thiago

saurav

@thiagofico@gmail.com

Hi,

The delay usually occurs if the program is not able to detect end of speech (a pause). There can be many reasons for this:

1) Background noise : If you are dictating in a noisy environment then the program may not be able to detect when you have stopped speaking and the text may stay grayed out and wont be sent to the third party program. Try dictating in a silent room by speaking clearly and close to the microphone.

2) Low quality or in-built microphone : Low quality microphones are not able to filter out background noise properly.